We understand primary school teachers work across all the learning areas, so we have created a scope and sequence document to make it easy to view the primary curriculum by levels rather than by learning areas.

There is one document for each year or band of the primary curriculum:

  • Foundation year
  • Years 1 and 2 band
  • Years 3 and 4 band
  • Years 5 and 6 band.

Each document contains the achievement standards and content descriptions for all 8 learning areas. This gives primary teachers an easy view of the curriculum across the learning areas.

If you want to read the introductory information about each learning area and the year/band level descriptions and content elaborations, navigate to the curriculum specific page and access the learning area ‘All curriculum elements’ document, which has the whole consultation curriculum.

A document has been created for each learning area explaining what has changed and why. A primary curriculum version of these documents has also been created to support you to understand the proposed revisions What has changed and why – primary curriculum bands F-6.

Primary curriculum bands (F-6) with all learning areas

Foundation Years 3 and 4
Year 1 and 2 Years 5 and 6